Portuguese Journal of Political Science


Call for Papers open until 31st January | RPCP | issue 10 & 11 | 2018

Out of all the activities and objectives since the creation of the Political Observatory we single out the creation, registering and publication of a scientific journal on the reflection, debate and divulgation of research in the area of Political Science.

The Portuguese Journal of Political Science (RPCP) is a registered trademark and an official scientific publication of the Political Observatory with the foremost objectives of publishing, circulating and advertising original, innovative and academic research in the area of Political Studies. It converges the various perspectives of the area in the subjects of Political Theory, Political Processes and Institutions and Strategy and Security.


The RPCP is indexed in the Latindex Catalog – System of International Information for Scientific Journals and the European Reference Index for the Humanities (ERIH) of the European Science Foundation (ESF). The present issue has been prepared according to the SciELO – Portugal rules. The RPCP was submitted to the Scopus platform.


The Portuguese Journal of Political Science is composed by an Editorial Board and an Academic Council. The Editorial Board meets periodically and its main function is advising the elaboration of the editorial plans. The Editorial Board is also tasked with analysing and proposing the inclusion of articles. The Academic Council is composed by individuals of scientific and academic merit both national and international. It is consulted by the bodies of the RPCP in order to define its strategy and contents.

According to the article 17 of the Portuguese Press Law no. 2/99, of January 13th, the Portuguese Journal of Political Science is committed to ensuring the respect of the deontological principles and the professional ethic of research work, as well as ensuring the reader’s good faith.

Biannual publication of the Political Observatory.

Editor Cristina Montalvão Sarmento (ISCSP-ULisboa/ OP)

Editorial Board Cristina Montalvão Sarmento (ISCSP-ULisboa/ OP), Cristiana Oliveira (OP), Nuno Lopes (OP), Patrícia Oliveira (OP), Patrícia Tomás (OP), Suzano Costa (OP)

Publisher Political Observatory

Technical characteristics Biannual, 300 copies, national and international distribution.

Legal Deposit 337483/11

ISSN 1647-4090

ISSN (electronic publication) 2184-2078

ERC 127001

Editorial Board The Editorial Board meets monthly in order to support the Board of Directors in the elaboration of editorial boards, analyse the inclusion of articles, columns and other texts, prepare articles for publication and contribute to the divulgation of the Portuguese Journal of Political Science.

Academic Council The Academic Council is a consultative scientific body for the definition of the Journal’s editorial strategy and its contents. The Academic Council is constituted by the members of the National Consultative Council and the International Scientific Council of the Political Observatory.

Adriano Moreira
Academia das Ciências de Lisboa
Alcino Pinto Couto
Universidade da Beira Interior
Alfonso Galindo Hervás
Universidad de Múrcia
Annabela Rita
CLEPUL, Universidade de Lisboa
André Freire
ISCTE, Instituto Universitário de Lisboa
André Corsino Tolentino
Instituto de África Ocidental
António Correia e Silva
Ministro do Ensino Superior Ciências e Inovação de Cabo Verde
Armando Marques Guedes
Faculdade de Direito, Universidade Nova de Lisboa
Carlos Baptista
IEP – Universidade de Brasília
Carlos César da Lima Motta
FCHS, Universidade Lusíada de Lisboa
Eduardo Viana
Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais
Gianfranco Pasquino
Università di Bologna, Dickinson College, Johns Hopkins University
Gianluca Passarelli
Università di Bologna
Jacques de Champchesnel
Sciences Po Paris, Campus de Poitiers
Jorge Bacelar Gouveia
Faculdade de Direito, Universidade Nova de Lisboa
José Adelino Maltez
ISCSP, Universidade de Lisboa
José Eduardo Franco
Faculdade de Letras, Universidade de Lisboa
José Lamego
Faculdade de Direito, Universidade de Lisboa

José Manuel Pureza
Faculdade de Economia, Universidade de Coimbra
José Manuel Moreira
Departamento de Ciências Sociais, Políticas e do Território, Universidade de Aveiro
Kevin Mulcahy
Louisiana State University, EUA
Kirk Bowman
Sam Nunn School International Affairs – GATECH, EUA
Lúcia Maria Paschoal de Guimarães
Universidade do Estado do Rio de Janeiro
Luís Andrade
Universidade dos Açores
Luís Filipe Lobo-Fernandes
Universidade do Minho
Luís Salgado de Matos
Instituto de Ciências Sociais, Universidade de Lisboa
Manuel Meirinho
ISCSP, Universidade de Lisboa
Maria Assunção Esteves
Presidente da Assembleia da República Portuguesa
Mario Losano
Università Del Piemonte Orientale
Miguel Anacoreta Correia
UCCLA, União das Cidades Capitais de Luso-Afro-Américo-Asiáticas
Olivier Dabène
Institut d´Études Politiques, Sciences-Po Paris
Paulo Ferreira da Cunha
Faculdade de Direito, Universidade do Porto
Paulo Gorjão
Instituto Português de Relações Internacionais e Segurança
Pedro Ferré
Universidade do Algarve
Pierre Léglise Costa
Université Paris VIII, Institut Etudes Européennes
Rui Vieira Nery
Universidade de Évora / Fundação Calouste Gulbenkian

Correspondence related to subscriptions, collaboration and publications should be addressed to the Editorial Office:


Rua Almerindo Lessa, Pólo Universitário do Alto da Ajuda,

1349-055 Lisbon – PORTUGAL

Tel.: (+351) 213 619 430

E-mail: revista@observatoriopolitico.pt