About the Political Observatory

About the Political Observatory-min

The Political Observatory represents 220 members, more than 80 researchers, between PhD and associates constitute an extended scientific body. Together they are a large group of researchers, interested and curious in the field of political science, who aim to contribute to the development of political study and national and international political analysis.

By the initiative of Cristina Montalvão Sarmento, along with 70 students of Political Science and International Relations, it was created in 2009 by the Scientific Board of FCSH – Universidade Nova de Lisboa and, since then, in 2010, became autonomous, constituting itself as an non-profit association of scientific research in political studies, gaining autonomy and asserting itself in the civil society as a research center of excellence.

Independent of party-political structures, political power, and sovereign entities, the Political Observatory has been committed to the sustainable development of a platform for study, analysis, and research dedicated to politics, devoting greater cooperation with society and the media, besides the science technology services.

From all activities, in the genesis of the Political Observatory, we highlight the creation, registration, and edition of the scientific journal of reflection and debate, the RPCP – Portuguese Journal of Political Science. Now, already with 10 numbers published and two others in preparation in the course of 2019, with biannual frequency, the RPCP complies with the referencing standards of the Latindex Catalog – System of International Information for Scientific Journals, the (ERIH) European Reference Index for the Humanities of the European Science Foundation (ESF) and Qualis (B4) – the system of classification for science production by CAPES, of the Brazilian Ministry of Education.

The Political Observatory’s research activity also allowed the updating and renewal of the well-known ResPublica, a generalized system on information network in political science issues, from the scientific authorship of Professor José Adelino Maltez, donated to the Political Observatory, in October 2011 which was renewed as POLITIPEDIA- Portuguese Repository of Political Science.

This database is the most extensive collection of compiled information, covering about eight thousand (8000) entries in the field of Political Science, more than twelve thousand (12000) files and the encyclopedic dome of a Portuguese Repository of Political Science. About two hundred (200) bibliographic keys on subjects of Political Science and International Relations, an important database of elections in Portugal since 1820, hundreds of biographies of the Portuguese political class, constitutes a valuable scientific heritage of the Political Observatory.

In January 2016, by agreement between the Institute of Social and Political Science (ISCSP) and the Political Observatory, it became part of the group of laboratories and observatories of the ISCSP – ULisboa, which constitute the repository and potential for the majority of political studies in Portugal.

Coordination Unit ISCSP-ULisboa
Cristina Montalvão Sarmento, Coordinator
Patrícia Oliveira, Assistant coordinator

Cristina Montalvão Sarmento, Director
Patrícia Oliveira, Secretary
Suzano Costa, Treasurer

National Consultive Council

Adriano Moreira (Academia das Ciências)
Alcino Pinto Couto (Universidade da Beira Interior)
Annabela Rita (CLEPUL, Univ. Lisboa)
Armando Marques Guedes (FD-UNL)
Carlos César da Lima Motta (Univ. Lusíada)
Jorge Bacelar Gouveia (FD-UNL)
José Adelino Maltez (ISCSP-UTL)
José Eduardo Franco (FL, Univ. Lisboa)
José Lamego (FD-Univ. Lisboa)
José Manuel Pureza (Univ. Coimbra)
José Manuel Moreira (Univ. Aveiro)
Luís Andrade (Univ. Açores)
Luís Filipe Lobo-Fernandes (Univ. Minho)
Luís Salgado de Matos (ICS-Univ. Lisboa)
Manuel Meirinho (ISCSP-ULisboa)
Maria Assunção Esteves (Ex-Presidente da Assembleia da República)
Miguel Anacoreta Correia (UCCLA)
Paulo Ferreira da Cunha (Univ. Porto)
Paulo Gorjão (IPRIS)
Pedro Ferré (Univ. Algarve)
Rui Vieira Nery (Univ. Évora / Gulbenkian)

General Assembly
José Fontes, President
Manuel Filipe Canaveira
Marta Ceia

Fiscal Council
Carlos dos Santos Vargas, President
António Horta Fernandes

International Scientific Council
Alfonso Galindo Hervás (Univ. Murcia, Espanha)
André Corsino Tolentino (IAO, Cabo Verde)
Andrew Linklater (Aberystwyth University)
António Correia e Silva (MESCI, Cabo Verde)
Carlos Batista (IEP- Universidade de Brasília, Brasil)
Eduardo Viana (UFMG-Minas Gerais, Brasil)
Gianfranco Pasquino (Univ. Bolonha, Dickinson College, Johns Hopkins University, Itália)
Gianluca Passarelli (Univ. Roma, Itália)
Jacques de Champchesnel (Sciences-Po Poitiers, França)
Johnatan Paquette (University of Ottawa)
Kevin V. Mulcahy (Louisiana State University, EUA)
Kirk S. Bowman (Sam Nunn School International Affairs, GATECH – Estados Unidos da América)
Lúcia Maria de Paschoal Guimarães (UERJ – Rio de Janeiro, Brasil)
Olivier Dabène (Sciences-Po Paris, França)
Mario Losano (Univ. Piemonte Oriental, Itália)
Pierre Léglise Costa (Université Paris VIII, França)
Stephen Boyle (University of South Australia)